Food for Thought: The Kiwi fruit


I woke up to some alarming news today.

New Zealand is not the number one producer of kiwifruit in the world.

(And for those annoyed already I don’t call it kiwi, well kiwifruit is the commonplace name we use in NZ since kiwi refers to the bird that gave is name to the fruit – saying I’m going to eat a kiwi in NZ, well it could put you in jail.)

Why does this matter, you say?

I suppose in the grand scheme of agricultural production, it doesn’t really matter. But on the basis of principle, I feel kind of gypped that NZ isn’t the #1 producer of kiwifruit in the world.

Why? Well, we stole the fruit from the Chinese, renamed it and single-handedly propelled the furry brown thing to world fame.

OK OK. Histrionics aside, I’m surprised that NZ is only the number two producer of the world. Are you?

Not surprised? Well then, surprised that the number one producer in the world is….Italy?!?!

Of all places…

If you don’t believe me (and I didn’t believe my own ears this morning when I first heard the report on the radio), here are links to prove it.

– America says so!

A report from the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) notes the level of production for kiwifruit from foreign countries.

Ok I get that the last sentence doesn’t have much credibility. But here are a bunch of other sources who say so too.

LA Times

Some random education website

Seattles Times

…after these watertight sources, hopefully you’re convinced.

I know about cotton dumping, corn production battles, Amazonian decimation for palm oil and the list goes on. But never thought it would be the kiwi too…Globalization is making a bigger stamp on agricultural practices than I had previously thought.

Guess this doesn’t really change anything. NZ kiwifruit is still the tastiest I’ve ever had (after eating Italian, Chilean – though must admit I haven’t tried Chinese yet).

4 thoughts on “Food for Thought: The Kiwi fruit

  1. “saying I’m going to eat a kiwi in NZ, well it could put you in jail.”

    Or it’s the kind of lewd comment one would not make in front of one’s grandmother!

  2. First of all I want to say wonderful blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your mind before writing. I have had a hard time clearing my mind in getting my ideas out. I do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are usually lost just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or hints? Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

