Sevilla, Spain: where the sun rises & sets with a smile everyday


Flew as quickly as possible to spend New Years in South of Spain because of the freezing Christmas in Germany. Not complaining – I had a wonderful stay with my amazing cousin & his wife – fantastic host and even better family. Strange considering I never met them before (thankfully he found me at the train station!)

But I was ready for sun and to feel my toes again.

I took a 6 day trip to Spain – 3 days in Sevilla & 3 days in Granada.

Both cities are part of the Andalusia region – very beautiful.

The best parts of Seville are the oranges, cathedrals and TAPAS.

So here’s a highlight because I’m sure you’re anxious to see the best parts – photos.

1. Oranges everywhere. And they are beautiful oranges with glossy, round and dimply exterior surrounded by lush green leaves, which all seem to promise a juicy and delicious fruit.

WRONG

These oranges are more sour than a lemon. No kidding. My friend D and I peeled one to try. With a confident bite, he munched into the orange as I warily observed. He had the funniest look on his face!! I tried one too. And it is the worst tasting thing ever!

Makes the city look beautiful and subtly perfumes the place though.

2. Cathedrals

Seville has one of the largest number of cathedrals in the world (appropriate since it’s a very Catholic city).

The Roman Catholic Cathedral of Seville has the longest nave in Spain, is the biggest Gothic church in the world, and the third-largest church in the world!

The beautiful exterior has exquisite detail with stony walls beautifully decorated. And the inside is designed with very high vaults and stained glass to let the maximum amount of light in. Very beautiful intimidating gates guard the entrance ensuring tourists enter with very low and reverent voices.

3. The food. W.O.W. (and I’m not talking about World of Warcraft).

I’m a huge foodie. And you know this. I call this my travel blog, but everybody knows it’s 70% dedicated to food. And so I have high standard and expectations when it comes to chowing down. As the truism goes, you are what you eat. So it is with great admiration that I say, for the record, Seville was one of the best food experiences I have had in my life.

The beautiful, delicious, splendid, surprising, tasty, finger-licking, mouth-numbing, (insert any positive adjective) food was more than I bargained for.

I ate seafood (squid, octopus, tuna, halibut, cod, sardines…), spinach & chickpeas, meat (beef, chicken, pork), some though very little vegetables, gazpacho, cheese…and jamón!! 

Too many good and delicious things to name. Thinking about it makes my mouth water.

Anyway, just to keep you drooling…I’m going to dedicate an entire post on food later. So look out for that. I promise beautiful pictures!

Last few highlights that didn’t make it in the top 3…

Plaza de España – Spanish Square

The mix of Moorish and Catholic influence where East (Islam) meets West (Christian) influences.

The bright bright colours! Coming from Paris it made a huge difference, I wasn’t seeing grey and black everyday. There was yellow, blue, orange, red, green…

2 thoughts on “Sevilla, Spain: where the sun rises & sets with a smile everyday

  1. I thought the orange thing was really funny. The way you described the oranges made me think of the oranges that grow in my neighborhood. Some neighbors told my housemates to pick their oranges because they just end up rotting in the street otherwise. Those oranges, however, are quite delicious.

    Wow, these pictures are gorgeous! I especially like the one of la Plaza de España.

Leave a Reply

