Soup for summer: Tangy goodness at La Cevicheria


Excuse the long delay!

School is out. Which means long days of sun and fun. Also means slower blog entries even though ironically I’m doing a lot more. So I have a couple of entries backed up I’m going to blast in one go. All the better, good reading for those of you who have nothing better to do this summer.

This will be a quick entry about La Cevicheria in Mid-City (which means between K-Town and South Central in this case).

closer upper

My friend O had mentioned ceviche for a long time ago. For those who, like me, had no idea what this ceviche was [pronounced see-vee-chay (with an extremely Americanised shady accent if you also like me cannot speak Spanish)], ceviche is a sour soup with seafood marinated using citrus (lemons and limes) and a lot of other delicious goodies chopped up. I got the Guatemalan ceviche which came with shrimp, crab, octopus, tomatoes, onions (no thank you!), mint, Worcestershire sauce, too much lemon and lime juice and some crackers. Sounds eclectic? Yup tasted that way too. I liked the tanginess. But after…5 bites it was a bit too sour. Would be great during a hot hot day in summer though. The rice and beans as sides were pretty good. The meal also came with unlimited tostadas which was another fun way to eat the meal I’ve never tried.

Altogether it was a fun experience because I’ve never had ceviche before. It was a small dingy resto but with the nicest people. A husband (cook) and wife (hostess/waitress) own the place. The husband, Julio, came out and introduced himself and made sure we were comfortable and enjoyed the food. He’s very charming and taught me a lot about ceviche and how they make it.

Finished off with some sweet tres leches cake. My first time again even though I’ve heard a ton about it. Not bad. Kind of like soggy lady fingers soaked in condensed milk before they’re made into tiramisu. Actually that sounds kind of gross. This was a lot better. Anyway try it to figure it out yourself.

5 thoughts on “Soup for summer: Tangy goodness at La Cevicheria

  1. Oh looks yummy!!! If you keep doing food reviews could I recommend/request adding prices in there as well 🙂

    That looks really good i wanna go when it gets super hot for the coming semester!

    • You’re right. I have been doing a lot of food. Guess I’ve been eating out a lot. I’ll add prices as I go/if I can remember them. It’ll probably be more like a 1-5 rating. Hence the yelp links cos usually I try to stay away from advertising for them.
      You should check it out though. Ceviche is definitely different.

  2. I would never have described ceviche as a soup, but I can see where you’re coming from on that one.

    I tried it for the first time in July and I quite liked it in small quantities. Quite surprisingly because I’m not a huge fan of seafood.

Leave a Reply

